1. FALSE. A batter-runner cannot be tagged out after
overrunning or over sliding first base if he returns immediately to
the base. ( ref. EXCEPTION: Rule 7.08(c) ). There is no reference to
turning left or right: the act of turning, by itself, is not an attempt
Rule: 7.08(j) adds that if he makes an attempt to run to second, he
is out when tagged. An attempt to run can be any quick motion
toward second base and is a judgment made by the umpire. That quick
motion can occur regardless of the direction the batter-runner turns
and at any time prior to reaching first base.
2. TRUE. Because the batter becomes a runner in this
situation (Rule: 6.09(b) ), all runners lose the right to occupy their
base and are forced to advance. A play on any of those runners
is a force play so the catcher could execute a simple force at home.
3. FALSE. A foul-tip is a pitch that tips
the bat and is fielded (usually in foul territory) but differs from
a foul ball. (Refer to Rule 2:00 Definition s and Terms, FOUL
TIP and FOUL BALL.) A foul-tip is a pitch that slightly grazes the bat
and goes sharp and direct to the catcher's glove or hand and is caught.
A foul-tip is a strike (if that strike is the third strike the batter
is out) and the ball remains live.
4. FALSE. The scheduled batter shall be called out,
upon appeal, when he fails to bat in his proper turn, and another batter
completes a time at bat in his place. Rule: 6.07(a). (Also see Facts
and Figures page, Batting Out of Turn, for additional information).
5. FALSE. In situations where the catcher has to make
a throw, the batter is better off staying in the batter's box but that
does not immunize him from being called for interference. The catcher
expects the batter to be in the batter's box and usually plans his throws
around the batter. On this type of play, any intentional or unusual
motion in the batter's box or stepping out of it can cause interference.
Whenever there is a runner on third base the batter must be alert and
aware of what is going on. The batter's team may be attempting to push
a run home and any interference, intentional or not, will jeopardize
that effort. Examples I have seen are batters interfering or swinging
at a fielder's (the pitcher) throws home on an outright steal attempt
and the batter's presence in the batter's box interfering with a play
at the plate on a passed ball. Rules: 2.00 INTERFERENCE, 6.06(c)
6. FALSE. The Official Baseball Rules (Pro rules) make
no specific mention of home plate in this regard. The batter is out
for illegal action when he hits the ball (either fair or foul) with
one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter's box. A
foot touching any portion of the batter's box (including the batter's
box line) is not outside the batter's box. The distance
between the batter's box and home plate is six inches, (Little League
is four inches). A batter's foot could very well touch the batter's
box and home plate at the same time. Rule: 6.06(a). NFHS (High School,
which tends to change frequently) and NCAA may vary.
7. FALSE. From either the Wind-up or Set
position the pitcher may 1) deliver the ball to the batter; 2) disengage
the rubber; or 3) step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick-off
a runner. (Rule 8.01(a) CASEBOOK). (Note: when a pitcher legally disengages
the pitching rubber he is no longer the pitcher, he is a fielder. On
wild throws (pick-offs) by a pitcher that goes out-of-bounds, runners
advance one base. Wild throws by fielders have other awards that are
usually two bases, as described in 7.05(g).)
8. FALSE. The baseball myth of base runners getting
"the base they were going to, plus one" is
the slow pitch softball version of the rule. (Under
that rule, if the runner is retreating to 1st base on the throw, he
gets 1st base plus one, that is second base.) In baseball the runners
are awarded two bases from the last base legally acquired either at
the time of the pitch or time of the throw. If the throw is the
first play of an infield the award is from the time of the pitch
otherwise it is the time of the throw. Rule: 7.04(g) and CASEBOOK.
9. FALSE. There are two primary elements
that must be adjudged in order to validate a catch; 1) the
fielder must hold the ball long enough to prove he has complete control
of the ball, and 2) the release of the ball must be voluntary and intentional.
Rule: 2.00 CATCH.
The definitive example is that if a center fielder grabs a fly ball
in his glove, crashes into a wall and falls unconscious with the ball
in his glove; it is not yet a catch. If another fielder arrives
and intentionally removes the ball from the unconscious fielders glove,
the catch is now completed.
10. FALSE. A base runner is not out if the batted ball
touches him after the ball passes an infielder, provided no other infielder
has a chance to make a play. (If the ball was touched or deflected by
the first infielder, the runner is not out regardless of an opportunity
by a second infielder.) Rule: 7.08(f). (Note: outstanding reference
and examples, N.A.P.B.L. Umpire Manual, Section 4.5).